Under-Dreaming

“Every dream has risk associated with it. Some might have more than others, but each dream comes wrapped in some degree of risk. If it doesn’t, it’s not really a dream.” Excerpt From: Acuff, Jon. “Quitter.”

Waking up in a cold sweat is supposed to be what happens when we’ve had nightmares. But more times lately, it’s been because I can’t see where my dreams are taking me. Even more scary is the feeling that I’m unable to take my dreams where they and I need to go.

We wake up before we see what happens, then can’t get back to it quick enough to pick up where we left off.

As I get older, my nightmares have graduated from…
“Will I ever get that degree or certification?” to
“Will I find a career where I can be happy?” to
“Am I mature enough to be a husband?” to
“Can we afford kids?” to
“Am I creating and leaving behind a legacy for them?”

Will my grandkids be able to confidently say that I died a happy, fulfilled man, or will they remember me as a pissed off old dude that felt as if he never lived out his dream or potential.

photo-1Are we in workplaces or around people that allow us to chase our passions, or are we allowing our current situations to put the fire out before they’ve had a chance to really spark?

Often the daily grind of life and task-driven jobs zap us of the energy we need to feed our dreams. We’re so drained from nothingness all day that we are rushing through our lives simply to get to the weekend. Free time is reserved for trying to forget what we’ve been through all week instead of planting seeds for our future.

When time is made to map out our dreams, in comes fear and doubt. Too much logic, not enough courage. In comes thoughts of where we’ve been instead of where we ultimately want to be.

If you are living your dream, please don’t stop. You’re where I and countless others are trying to be. If you know what yours is and are on your way, keep pushing. If you are still hoping and waiting on that epiphany, don’t wake up yet. And if you see it, but don’t know exactly how to bring it to fruition, do not under-dream in efforts to avoid naysayers, dreamless individuals or colleagues that can only see how your worth profits them. While all won’t be supportive and many will not be able to contribute to your dream, having one is critical to our professional and personal lives and our ability to live them more abundantly.

photo credit

4 thoughts on “Under-Dreaming

  1. I love this line: “… do not under-dream in efforts to avoid naysayers, dreamless individuals or colleagues that can only see how your worth profits them.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly reMix 3/22/2013 | HR reMix

Leave a Reply

